Friday, June 21, 2024
HomeTennisUSTA Publicizes Winners of the 2023 Umpire Awards

USTA Publicizes Winners of the 2023 Umpire Awards

ORLANDO, Fla., November 16, 2023 – The USTA introduced that Thomas Conter, Denise Alexander and Brian Earley had been named winners of the Nicholas E. Powell Award, Woodie Walker C.A.R.E. Award, and John T. McGovern Award, respectively. The awards, which honor these people who serve the sport of tennis with distinction of their capability as officers, got out on the 2023 Annual Umpire Awards, which was held just about just lately.

“We’re lucky to have proficient and devoted officers akin to Thomas, Denise and Brian, who’re actually making an influence in rising tennis at each the grassroots {and professional} ranges,” stated Sean Cary, USTA Managing Director, Competitors Operations. “Their management, work ethic and keenness for the sport are just some of the the explanation why they’re so deserving of this recognition.”

Given annually to a grassroots official, the USTA Nicholas E. Powell Award acknowledges the significance of officiating on the native stage. Since 1990, the award has been given to officers who work primarily at sectional/beginner occasions, have a supportive angle towards grassroots applications, and are constructive position fashions. Conter, of Colorado Springs, Colo., has been an official for 12 years. He has performed an integral position in rising officiating in Colorado, working to recruit and practice plenty of officers and was beforehand honored with the Abe Butler Award for his contributions to officiating in Colorado. As well as, he has created plenty of useful coaching supplies for gamers and event administrators and is lauded by his colleagues for his willingness to coach different officers and serving as a constructive position mannequin.

The Woodie Walker C.A.R.E. award acknowledges a tennis official whose contributions to the sport and to the USTA distinguish them not just for their long-standing service to the game however for exemplifying the qualities “Woodie” Walker has represented throughout her a long time of management within the discipline, particularly those who characterize the award’s acronym: Dedication, Accountability, Accountability, and Excellence. Alexander, of Bend, Ore., has been one of the vital distinguished officiating figures within the Pacific Northwest for greater than a decade. She is understood for serving to to information fellow officers by means of the coaching and certification course of and has mentored quite a few officers all through the area, serving to them advance their officiating careers.

The John T. McGovern Award is given out to a USTA-certified chair or line umpire with no less than 10 years of service who has demonstrated excellent contributions to tennis officiating. Earley, of Redding, Conn., served because the US Open Referee for 26 years and has spent almost 40 years serving in an officiating capability on the USTA Professional Circuit. A former gold-badge umpire, Earley has labored at almost each stage of officiating each domestically and internationally and is acknowledged for his thorough understanding and constant software of guidelines and laws.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments